skip navigation

The 34th annual Schwan’s USA CUP, July 13-21, will generate $36 million in economic impact

07/09/2018, 12:30pm CDT
By Barclay Kruse, NSC Chief Communications Officer

20 countries, 20 states and four Canadian provinces represented at this year’s tournament

Blaine, Minn. (July 9, 2018) – The 2018 Schwan’s USA CUP youth soccer tournament at the National Sports Center in Blaine will generate $36 million in economic impact during its nine-day run, July 13-21. The economic impact from visitors will be $28.1 million alone. Visitor spending will also generate a projected $233,515 in local tax revenue.

The 34th annual tournament will draw 1,150 teams, representing 20 different countries, 20 states, and four Canadian provinces.

The tournament is the largest soccer tournament in the Western Hemisphere. This year’s total is the third largest in the history of the tournament. This high mark was set in 2016, with 1,178 teams, and this year’s total is just 28 teams shy of that.

The economic impact of Schwan’s USA CUP has been recognized by Explore Minnesota, the state’s tourism promotion agency. During the 2018 Explore Minnesota Tourism Conference, held at the Verizon Center in Mankato March 6-7, 2018, USA CUP was presented the award as the Minnesota Tourism Event of the Year.

In addition to the teams, USA CUP attracts a diverse corps of referees. This year 170 international referees will represent 19 different countries, including nine countries not represented by teams.

Here is the breakdown of where the registered teams and referees are coming from:

Country breakdown (20): Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Haiti, Iceland, Jamaica, Japan, Mexico, Norway, Panama, Peru, Puerto Rico, Sweden, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, and the United States.

Canada provinces sending teams (5): Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario, and Saskatchewan.

U.S. states sending teams (20): Alaska, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Idaho, Iowa, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Referees coming from the following countries (19): Barbados, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, France, Germany, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, St. Kitts and Nevis, Uganda, United Kingdom, and the United States.


Tag(s): Press Releases