skip navigation

A total of 1,168 teams have registered for 2017 Schwan’s USA CUP, July 14-22

07/06/2017, 2:45pm CDT
By Barclay Kruse, Chief Communications Officer

15 countries, 17 states and 5 Canadian provinces represented

Blaine, Minn. (July 5, 2017) – The 33rd annual Schwan’s USA CUP at the National Sports Center (NSC) in Blaine, Minn. July 14-22, 2017, will feature 1,168 teams. The roll of teams will represent 15 different countries, 17 states, and five Canadian provinces.

The tournament is the largest soccer tournament in the Western Hemisphere. Last year’s total of 1,178 teams was a record, and this year’s total is just ten short of that.

The Opening Ceremony is the one time during Schwan's USA CUP when all members of the tournament family gather in the same location.

“Until the NSC can add more playing fields, the tournament’s capacity is right about where we ended up last year and this year,” said Schwan’s USA CUP director Jen Een. “We are optimistic the NSC will build additional fields in the future, which will allow us to admit more teams.”

“Notable this year is a girls’ team from Spain and more teams from China that we have ever had,” said the Recruiting Director Aaron Schmidt.

Schwan’s USA CUP is held on the campus of the National Sports Center (NSC) in Blaine, Minn. The tournament is unique as the only tournament of its size in the world that holds all its games on a single contiguous campus. The 600 acre sports campus will offer 50 full-sized soccer fields. In addition to soccer fields, the NSC boasts an 8,500 seat stadium, an eight-sheet ice arena, an 18-hole golf course, and a cycling velodrome. Schwan’s USA CUP is the facility’s flagship event, its largest and most diverse.

In addition to the teams, USA CUP attracts a diverse corps of referees. In fact, this year’s referee group represents more countries than do the teams – 18 in total – including the tournament’s first-ever referee from Pakistan, a FIFA referee named Muhammad Ali.

Here is the breakdown of where the registered teams and referees are coming from:

Country breakdown (15): Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Haiti, Japan, Mexico, Panama, Spain, Sweden, Uganda, United States.

Canada provinces sending teams (5): Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, Saskatchewan.

U.S. states sending teams (17): Alaska, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Wisconsin.

Referees coming from the following countries (18): Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Bermuda, Brazil, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Haiti, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Norway, Pakistan, Portugal, Romania, United Kingdom, and United States.

Media can access a searchable and sortable list of registered teams in an Excel spreadsheet here:


Tag(s): Latest News